Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The Camera Sensor - Impact and Utilization

Real Name
    Pica

The Camera Sensor - Impact and Utilization

Hello Everyone,
    Background: I've been photographing for several years, and like to stop at times and contemplate both technical and photographic matters. This question concerns the first.

I have a 16 Mega-pixel sensor which I of course use mostly as a 16 MP sensor. However I also have the possibility of running the camera sensor in e.g. 12 MP mode. My technical question is: If one decides to change the mode from 16 to 12 MP, will this change the overall quality on photographs, e.g. the dynamic range, or is it just that the technical implementation for example blocks a number of pixels to achieve the result of 12 Mega-pixels?

Thank you for your cooperation!

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: The Camera Sensor - Impact and Utilization

I think you need to tell us which brand and model camera you are discussing Pica, so we can research how they are doing it and whether it has other effects.

Thanks, Dave

Real Name
    Pica

Hello again Dave,
    Thank you for your response.

With a background as a systems engineer and project leader in technique projects, I have been hoping for that the camera vendors had reached a consensus on how to implement the feature; or at least that one could see a rule of thumb! But from your reply I interpret that this is not the case. Is it so? (Is it more like the none generic raw-strategy? No general technical implementation?)

Yes of course I will supply the data you are asking for. I am now looking for a new camera and thus I choose:
    - DSLR: Nikon D5300
    - Bridge: Fujifilm FinePix HS50 EXR

Looking forward to your result of the research you propose.

All the Best.
    Pica

Quote Originally Posted by Dave Humphries View Post
    I think you need to tell us which brand and model camera you are discussing Pica, so we can research how they are doing it and whether it has other effects.