Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Exposure Compensation v. Spot Metering

Exposure Compensation v. Spot Metering

I am relatively new to photography. I will be traveling soon with a Nikon D5300, and plan to photograph sunsets with the sun setting into the ocean horizon. I will be using aperture mode and manual mode, and possibly shutter priority mode. I have been learning, but cannot quite get my arms around the concept of exposure compensation v. spot metering. I will shoot in RAW, but my editing skills are extremely basic. So, my questions are . . .

Are these two techniques accomplishing the same thing? Is there a time to use one over the other? As a newbie, which one would you recommend I use when shooting sunsets? Any advice on how to use them? For example, do you have recommended exposure compensation number? Are there any modes that do not allow spot metering or exposure compensation?

Thanks in advanced for your advice. I really appreciate it.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Exposure Compensation v. Spot Metering

Welcome to CiC. Would you mind clicking the My Profile button on the top of this page and at least giving us your first name and where you are from. We are a fairly informal group here at CiC and go on a first name basis.

I'm going to move your posting to the General Photography Discussion forum, as you are going to receive more answers if it is located in that forum.

Rather than worry about exposure compensation and spot metering, I would suggest that you learn how to use your camera's histogram, as this is the most important tool you will have for this (and any) kind of photography. You will want to get as wide as possible of an exposure without clipping either the blacks or the highlights. In sunset shots, if you are shooting directly at the sun, there is no doubt that you will likely blow out the highlights, so getting enough data for the rest of the scene is critical for a good shot.