Thread: I'm a newbie

Real Name
    Kim Lerman

I'm a newbie

Hi, just got my d3300 last month with kit lens and 55-200 zoom. Since then I've purchased a sigma 70-200 f2.8 and nikkor 35mm f1.8. Just sold my kit lens and zoom to get the nikkor 18-200. Now just have the three lenses. Love taking pictures and experimenting with different settings. Would love another prime but not sure what to get. Also still very confused about iso settings and how they relate! Hoping to learn more here. Trying to find others in my area to take pictures with. Just glad to be part of this forum to gain knowledge. Thanks!

Real Name
    Rob

Re: I'm a newbie

Hi there, sounds like you have a fair bit of kit there to be getting on with.
    Is there any particular reason you want another prime lens? The 35mm dx lens you have is excellent and versatile.
    Do you know what type of photography you want to do (what subjects)? That might help.

Rob

Nomadic but not homeless, ex N.Z. now Aust.
    Real Name
    Paul

Save your money for the meantime and go out and take photographs. When you get to the stage that you need a new lens you will know what it is you need and more importantly why you need it.
    Kit for kit's sake just gives you more to carry.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Quote Originally Posted by Klerman13 View Post
    Also still very confused about iso settings and how they relate! Hoping to learn more here. Trying to find others in my area to take pictures with. Just glad to be part of this forum to gain knowledge. Thanks!
    Hi,

May I wish you a warm welcome to the CiC forums.

Could you do me a favour please?
    Could you click Settings (right at the top),
    then Edit Profile (on left)
    and put your first name in the Real Name field
    and where you are (roughly) in the Location field,
    then click the Save Changes button below and to right,
    this helps everyone give you more personal and relevant answers - thanks in advance.