Thread: ND filters

ND filters

Trying to decide which way to go...I would like to purchase an ND filter for my 77mm 24-105 lens for long exposures, day photography. As a beginner I am wondering if it is best to purchase a screw on variable ND to start with or look at the Lee filter system ....does anyone have any advice on which ones to look at ??

Real Name
    Allan Short

Re: ND filters

Photofriend I think it you ask one of the Moderators to move this to another thread, you would be a better response to your question. However I will add one piece of info, I use the Lee system for a number of years now, they do not make a variable ND filter, only fixed stop such as 1-stop, 2-stop, 3-stop, 4-stop, 5-stop (Little Stopper) and the 10-stop (Big Stopper), now they also make GND filters but not in 5 or 10 stops. If you are looking for a excellent variable ND filter than I suggest Singh-ray I believe it is 2 to 8 stops.
    Again I suggest that you get a mod to move to a different thread.

Cheers: Allan

MOD EDIT - Post moved, along with the original above, into this new thread. Thanks, Allan.
    Last edited by Donald; 3rd December 2015 at 04:12 PM.

Real Name
    Dan

One thing that you may want to consider is when/how you plan to use the filter and whether stacking with another filter will be necessary. For example the only time that I use ND is when shooting water when it is beneficial to also use a CPL. When used in a stack there may be practical issues to consider when making your decision (e.g. rotation of filters, vignetting, etc.)

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Thanks to Allan for pointing out that the original post was in the 'Meet the Members' section and not likely to get many replies there. So it and his reply have been moved in to this new thread.

Chesterfield, Missouri/Melbourne, Australia
    Real Name
    Izzie

Welcome to CiC...would be nice to know what you wanted us to call you apart from "Hey!"