Thread: Olympus mju(stylish in us) 1010 vs. Sony Cyber-Shot w320

Real Name
    Cristian Alexandru Costache

Olympus mju(stylish in us) 1010 vs. Sony Cyber-Shot w320

First of all, I'd like to say hello to the CiC community, it's a great thing u guys built here .

Well, the thing is that I'm a beginner at photography, till now I was obsessed only with photo manipulation/editing/etc. in photoshop, and I guess tweaking all those photos gave me a taste for taking some.
    That's why I decided to buy my very first digital camera next week, thus I managed to get a hold of about 180$ and started searching the interwebs for some camera review's, tips and such; I finally found the best products for me in my price range ( I think ) and they are:

Sony Cyber-Shot w320(in the link it's the w330 because I didn't find the w320 in their product page, it's exactly the same camera except the different size in the display, the w320 has only 2.7")

Olympus Mju 1010 (the camera is called Olympus Stylish 1010 in the US and some of Asia, it was released with the name "Mju" in Europe)

What bothers me is that I couldn't find a proper review for either of them, I mean they both get only compliments but no cons, or opinions after let's say, a month or more of usage; the only thing I found is that after ~1 year the display on the Olympus darkens and gets blurry.

Anyway, I would be very grateful if someone could guide me to which of the two is better. Thanks in advance for the advice, meanwhile I'll be learning a bit more about photography in the "Tutorials" section (and excuse my eventual bad writing, English is my second language :P ).

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Re: Olympus mju(stylish in us) 1010 vs. Sony Cyber-Shot w320

Hi there and welcome to the CiC forums,

Even in a camera such as this, I would definitely advise getting a camera that shoots RAW (not just jpg) and one that has manual controls, especially if you already know how to PP images.