Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Baby Portraits

Real Name
    Matt

Baby Portraits

I have stupidly agreed to photograph a friends baby, I have never done anything like this before, does anyone have any pointers or links to a good tutorial resource? Examples? etc.

Many thanks

Real Name
    David

Re: Baby Portraits

There are loads on you tube Matt, maybe watching a few of those might help mate?

Real Name
    Allan Short

Matt really do not worry about it, just get a good focus and exposure, parents will love anything you give them as long as their child or children are in it.

Cheers: Allan

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

I think the principles of good portraiture apply as much to babies as to bigger people.

The series of tutorials that Colin Southern developed here on the forum is one source of valuable information. Look at:- School of Portraiture - Links to Lessons 1 through 8

Real Name
    Matt

Thanks all, I've been meaning to try a bit of portraiture photography and I thought this is a perfect opportunity ... thats why I said yes really.

Cheers Donald, I'll have a look at that link when I get home later.

I have taken a few photos of my cats, so same thing I suppose

Real Name
    John

Quote Originally Posted by Rebel View Post
    Thanks all, I've been meaning to try a bit of portraiture photography and I thought this is a perfect opportunity ... thats why I said yes really.

Cheers Donald, I'll have a look at that link when I get home later.

I have taken a few photos of my cats, so same thing I suppose
    The only issue I see, after working out backgrounds and lighting; is getting the child positioned and looking in the direction you want. You might have to play with the kid for a few hours before you get the cooperation you desire.

Real Name
    Matt

I should of mentioned in my original post, that these shots will be outdoors!

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Matt,