Thread: Focus stacking

Real Name
    Julian

Focus stacking

This is my first try at focus stacking using the Nikon 105mm f/2.8 Micro.

Focus stacking
    Last edited by Mica; 1st October 2015 at 06:11 PM.

Real Name
    Keith

Re: Focus stacking

A cracking image Mica, perhaps crop off the white bit on the left hand side because it catches the eye (mine) too easily.

Real Name
    John

Nice effort.

Real Name
    Julian

Thank you for the suggestion. I have completed another try with better cropping technique. See attached.

Focus stacking

That one looks fine.

Real Name
    Dan

Good start. Both look free of obvious stacking artifacts. My one suggestion is more images in the stack. You don't have all of the anthers in focus in the second one, for example. In my experience, out-of-focus areas in the foreground are usually more bothersome to viewers than OOF areas further back in the flower.

How did you stack these? The exif information looks like it is from one image. My stacked images lose all of that.

Real Name
    William (call me Bill)

Both are very good first attempts.

I agree with the comment made by Keith H regarding the Cropping of Image 1. A SQUARE Crop would look good I think.

And I also agree with Dan's comment about OoF areas in the Foreground, being more distracting than OoF areas in the Background

Matters that you might consider for improving Focus Stacking technique:

1. Shutter speed. I'd be interested to know the Shutter Speeds that you used. Interrogation reveals 1/640s and 1/50s respectively, but I seek confirmation that data is correct. The (large) file of the second image appears on my studio monitor to exhibit SUBJECT MOVEMENT (esp. top petal 11 o'clock).

2. Number of exposures. I'd be interested to know the number of exposures you applied, especially for the first image. All the petals are not complete in focus and artistically it would be nicer for them to be so (esp. petals bottom 8'oclock and 5 o'clock).