Thread: can someone help with iso aperture and shutter-speed

Real Name
    dylan young

can someone help with iso aperture and shutter-speed

i have read from many pages about iso aperture and shutter speed but i dont understand still it. i am new to photography i am 16 still in high school but i like to take pictures,and i would like to expand my skills. so any help with learning on howto make better pictures and any tips aswell.

Real Name
    Dan

Re: can someone help with iso aperture and shutter-speed

Have you visited the Tutorials section of this website? That is a good place to start.

Real Name
    George

Quote Originally Posted by dylany View Post
    i have read from many pages about iso aperture and shutter speed but i dont understand still it. i am new to photography i am 16 still in high school but i like to take pictures,and i would like to expand my skills. so any help with learning on howto make better pictures and any tips aswell.
    Google for "exposure triangle". There is a lot of youtube movies or websites with animation. Once you kmow the relation between them, you might have more specific questions.

George

Real Name
    Kathy

One really good book to help you figure it out is Bryan Peterson's Understanding Exposure. You can probably find an older edition in the public library if you want to read it before buying it.

Basically, iso is the sensitivity of your medium to light. The higher the number, the faster you can grab more light, but the more noise or grain you'll see in the final image.

Aperture is how big the hole in the lens is to let in light. f-numbers are a little tricky to understand, but they're ratios or fractions, so the smaller the number, the bigger the hole is (e.g., f/4 is bigger than f/8) and the more light you get, but the less stuff you get in focus at the same time (depth of field).