Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Prime lens or Zoom

Real Name
    Mick

Prime lens or Zoom

I have a canon 700D with an 18mm - 55mm zoom lens and wondered if there would be any real benefit in getting a prime lens as well. I am new to photography and am struggling a bit on the field of view side. I understand that when you zoom to a longer lenght you get a narrower field of view (not sure if it's the right term or not) so if I had a 24mm prime lens would the field of view be the same as setting my zoom to the same focal length or would the prime be wider? So far my shots have been landscape, birds and flowers and I don't anticipate doing any portrait work.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Prime lens or Zoom

Welcome to CiC, Mick.

To try to answer your question; at a high level a 24mm prime lens and a zoom lens set to 24mm will give you exactly the same image. Most people will tend to find zoom lenses are a bit more versatile than fixed focal length lenses (a.k.a. prime lenses).

Do I have prime lenses? Yes, but these tend to be more specialized lenses. There can be an image quality advantage to prime lenses, but this is often negligible in real world photography. The often have a larger maximum aperture (for lower lighting shooting or for getting shallower depth of field). They are often smaller and lighter than zoom lenses.

When I first started out in digital photography, I started with a 18-55mm kit lens as well. I then went for a 55-200mm zoom lens to let me get closer to subjects and my third lens was a 11-16mm ultra-wide angle lens, for indoor architectural work.

Real Name
    Eric

The general down side of zoom lenses:
    1) f-stop. It is very, very expensive to get any kind of zoom and also get an f-stop below 3.5.
    2) Distortions. In order to do what it does, any zoom lens has varying degrees of distortion in the results. It will be worse at certain zoom settings than others.
    3) Size
    4) Weight