Thread: First Photos - need post-processing advice with sunsets/flowers

Real Name
    Siva

First Photos - need post-processing advice with sunsets/flowers

Hi all,
    I'm new to photography. I bought a Canon 550D with 18-135mm kit yesterday and took some photos. Please give me some advices on these following photos. I dont know much about PP. Therefore i just changed some settings until i like the photos. C&C welcome.

Re: First Photos

Congrats on the new gear!

I think these are quite good. But #2 and #3 might look better with a top crop of 20% (especially #2 with that bright area at the top). The problem with shots such as these is you end up relying very much on structure and colour to provide interest. You have the colour, but I'm not sure you quite have the structure. I'm looking around them and my eyes do not immediately rest on something before moving on. Does that make sense?

Good attempt though, and enjoy the camera.

Real Name
    Pete

Hi Sakthi, and welcome.
    Good efforts above. I like the soft tones in the second pic the best.
    Taking landscapes with lots of sky like these, you'll be dealing with a very wide dynamic range which gives you the dark forground (not always bad) and the clipped highlights in the sky as your camera struggles to expose the scene. This has always frustrated me and I am now committed to investing in a set of Neutral Density graduated filters to help me out on the path for better landscapes. I haven't used them yet but this guy has. He is not everyone's cup of tea but his tutorials are simple and easy to understand. Filters won't help your composition though so throw yourself into that first and then think about filters. Have a look at the link anyway (and his other tutorials) and good luck with whatever you are planning next.

Cheers
    Last edited by Hans; 20th June 2010 at 11:47 AM.

Real Name
    Siva

Thanks Rob and Hans. ya, I also heard Neutral Density graduated filters. When i can afford that i may buy that.