Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Focal Length Doubts

Real Name
    Celso Ravani

Focal Length Doubts

Hi! I'm just learning about focal length and there are some things that I still don't understand. But what mostly intrigues me is this:
    I was analyzing some photos and some of them shows 24mm and 32mm, but also there are some 3.24 and 2.52.
    What means those 3.24 and 2.52?

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Focal Length Doubts

Welcome to CiC. If you wouldn't mind clicking the "My Profile" tab at the top of the page and completing the information about yourself, that would be very useful; at least adding your first name and where you are from? We tend to work on a first name basis here at CiC.

Digital cameras are made with sensors of various sizes and consequently, the lenses used on them have varying focal lengths. The first set of numbers you give could indicate focal lengths of lenses used on cameras that use a large sensor size; full-frame, APS-C or micro four-thirds, and the second set could be used on cameras that use a small sensor size like 1/1.7" or 1/2.5".

Focal Length Doubts

As you can see from the diagram, standard sensor sizes can vary greatly. A lens of a specific focal length will always cast the same size of image, so a 32mm focal length will be a wide angle lens on a full frame sensor camera, a "normal" lens for an APS-C sized sensor and a telephoto lens on one of the smaller sensors.

My answer is just a guess as to what you are looking for...

You'll have to explain what you are after a bit better for us to provide better information you are looking for.
    Last edited by Manfred M; 8th August 2015 at 12:00 AM.

Real Name
    Celso Ravani

Thanks for the answer GrumpyDiver!

I'm getting a great interest and excitement about photography, but is kinda a hobby. I was just learning about Focal Length then I took a look on some photos of friends of mine and checked the focal length section on those.