Thread: Suggestions to Improve!

Real Name
    Zameel Ad Deen

Suggestions to Improve!

What is wrong with this picture(Light Trail Photography). I tried to take similar pictures but all of them were blurred as if i was moving my smartphone camera. What setting should i change to get the right result.

Im just a beginner. I used my Phone and the camera Fv5 pro app which gives DSLR like controls for Smartphones.
    Camera : LG G3

Suggestions to Improve!

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Suggestions to Improve!

Welcome to CiC. Would you mind clicking the "My Profile" tab at the top of the page and completing your profile? At least fill in your first name and where you are from; we tend to be fairly informal here at CiC and go on a first name basis.

As to what is "wrong" with your image, that really depends on your expectations. You wanted to get streaking head lights and tail lights, and so far as I can see; that is exactly what you got. You are showing signs of motion blur and sensor noise, but based on that you are shooting low light and are likely hand holding your phone while steadying it, that is to be expected. You've already suggested you will need a tripod in another thread, so I suggest you have at least partially answered your own question.

To get the image you are looking for you need:

1. The technical skills to get the shot that you want;

2. The artistic (compositional skills) to identify the scene that will give you that compelling image you are trying to capture; and

3. The appropriate equipment to execute your vision.

If you are a beginner, I suspect you are missing something on all three counts, so get out there and practice. Figure out how your equipment is limiting your success and either work around that or get better tools. Don't expect that someone here will turn you into a fantastic night photographer instantly; many of the members here have been taking pictures for quite some time (years and decades, in some instances).