Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: My 2015 Weekly Photos - Part 3

Real Name
    Bruce

Re: My 2015 Weekly Photos - Part 3

Geoff, what a wonderful collection. I've tried to choose a favourite but am having difficulty. I was intrigued in the third photo by what looked at first like a humungous rototiller, but turned out to be a motorized plough. I really enjoyed the traction engine photos.

Thanks.

A couple more images, and for Izzie, I have converted them to Black & White.

My 2015 Weekly Photos - Part 3

Chesterfield, Missouri/Melbourne, Australia
    Real Name
    Izzie

Thanks for indulging my request, Geoff...these two are very, very good to the eyes...exactly how Black and White should be done. I am not good at Black and White, but I am delighted at liking some of them and this is no exception...If I have to choose between the two of them, I'd prefer #1 because the tone is more evenly distributed (sorry don't know how to describe this...) whereas in #2 the upper part of the image with the dark shrubs/trees (?) is more stronger than the actual subject...I think you overdid the top a tad...
    Cheers....

Quote Originally Posted by Geoff F View Post
    Thanks.

Real Name
    Bruce

Thanks.

Geoff, this photo spectacular! I've always loved black-and-white photos of old farm machinery. I have a few (120 film) which I took myself many years ago while visiting on an uncle's farm in Saskatchewan.

Real Name
    Binnur

Very nice series

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

I agree that this is a particularly beautiful image. A very good composition is strengthened by an excellent B & W conversion that brings out gorgeous tones and textures.

Getting good monochrome tones, Izzie, starts by adjusting the colour tints to selectively lighten or darken the eventual mono result. Which really requires a good subject to work well.

In #1 I was able to easily darken the blues and lighten the yellows.