Thread: Sony A7rII vs. Canon 5DS

Real Name
    Peter

Sony A7rII vs. Canon 5DS

I've been torturing myself for several months after deciding to rebuild my camera bag. For what it's worth, my standards were set ridiculously high years ago by the Leica M6 and their fabulously glass, thus the large sensor camera ideas. My fear, after watching a very nicely done webcast by B&H yesterday about the Canon 5DS and 5DSR cameras is they they're largely tripod cameras due to the large sensor.

I've seen the Sony cameras and am impressed by the build, size and reception they've received from serious camera people. Limited lenses, yes, but Zeiss seems to be rolling them out faster than I can pay for them so I'm not overly worried.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Re: Sony A7rII vs. Canon 5DS

Welcome to CiC.

If you wouldn't mind clicking the "My Profile" button on the top of this page and at least adding your first name and where you are from to your profile, that would be great. We tend to be a pretty informal group here and go on a first name basis.

First of all, you are not quite correct about the full frame cameras that you saw in the B&H video; the quality that comes from hand holding them is no better or worse than you got from your Leica. The sensor is more or less the same as the film size you were shooting. You could have gotten better shots by using a decent tripod with the Leica too.

You can take that from another long time Leica shooter that went to a high pixel count (Nikon D800) about 3 years ago.