Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Explain the numbers - imaging circle vs sensor size

Real Name
    Peter

Explain the numbers - imaging circle vs sensor size

Public admission time.
    I work in finance but failed arithmetic at school (no wonder we had a GFC). I am not talking about algebra, calculus, etc just arithmetic.
    I understand the sensor size and crop factor on SLR sensors but with compact and bridge cameras we get sensor sizes like 4/3”, 2/3”, ½”, etc.
    I also understand that these smaller sensors are 5, 6 or 7 times approximately smaller than a FF sensor. I simply divide the smaller size lens focal length into the FF equivalent provided in the specs to get his result.
    BUT
    How do the fractions in the second paragraph above translate to “x – times” smaller sensor?
    Ps. Please keep my maths problem a secret.

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Explain the numbers

Hi Peter,

Does this help?

Real Name
    Peter

Hi Colin,

I have read that tutorial a number of times (and all tutorials for that matter and find them extremely informative) and understand the concept but I cannot work out how a 4/3" relates to x-time smaller sensor.

I suppose my problem with anything to do with maths or numbers has always been that I have never been able to explain what I need to know to clarify the problem in my mind.

What I am trying to understand is how for example 4/3” turns into x – time smaller lens. What does 4/3” actually represent? Is it a size, a ratio, a state of mind? I do not understand what the fraction, number, or whatever it is actually represents.

I understand the 1.5 or 1.6 crop factors in Nikon and Canon sensors but as the sensors get smaller thay change the way the size of the sensor is stated and it is this new number/fraction, etc I do not understand what is means.

Administrator
    Real Name
    Sean

Quote Originally Posted by Peter Ryan View Post