Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Questions on Bracketing Exposures

Real Name
    Christina

Questions on Bracketing Exposures

This morning I went on a hike to photograph a scene at a lake. I forgot my Graduated ND filters and I had to bracket the exposures to account for the brightness of the sky and dark forest. (I have very little experience bracketing)

My camera is a Nikon D7100. I'm using back button focus (a recent switch, and this morning is the first time I've tried bracketing with BBF)

I set my bracketing for 3 frames +1 and also +2 exposure, and pressed the ok button to ensure auto bracketing was set.

I switched between Single Shot auto focus, and Continuous auto focus

Whilst 'auto bracketing' remains set (until I cancel it) the camera will cycle through the same three exposure settings so, if my 'drive' is set to single shot, I must remember to take three shots of each scene. However, if I set the 'drive' to 'continuous shooting' mode, it will take three shots (at the different exposures) and stop. This seems a much better way to work, especially on the high speed drive setting, I can take three exposures in rapid succession, so the shots will be almost identical and I don't have to remember how many shots I have taken.

Quote from this link...

http://www.geofflawrence.com/bracketing_exposures.html

I started out using Aperture priority, with a set iso at 100 than auto iso set to 320 (wind on the trees)... It seems that even though I had the bracketing function turned on, my camera wasn't giving me 3 shots at different exposures.. So I switched to manual mode with a set and also with auto iso (trying everything to figure it out) with auto bracketing I did receive 3 shots at different exposures each time... That auto bracketing worked in manual mode and not in aperture priority seemed incorrect? If anything I would expect it to be the other way around.

My apologies for the confusing post but I'm confused.

Thank you.