Thread: What flash for night time action photography

What flash for night time action photography

I am not a professional photographer but I love to take photos. My two sons and husband race mini sprint cars on a dirt track and while I have taken great photos, if I do say so myself, in the daytime most of our racing is at night.
    I need a flash that will light from a distance and will work with fast action. I like to use the autofocus if that is possible at night and with a flash. My question is what would any of you recommend I buy for a flash attachment? I have a Canon Rebel XS EOS I have two lenses but most likely would use the 18-55mm lens. The other lens is more of a zoom lens. Thank you, Kim

Real Name
    John

Re: What flash for night time action photography

I wouldn't recommend using flash when someone (the driver) is trying to concentrate on a task. Most tracks have floodlights, at best position yourself in front of the light source if possible and increase ISO as necessary.

I understand what you are saying but you are not shooting straight on at them. It's usually from the side. We have had photographers out there that use flashes. So just wondering what is the best kind?

Nomadic but not homeless, ex N.Z. now Aust.
    Real Name
    Paul

At most night time sports events you will see flash photography taken from stands. These people know nothing about photography and are just providing a distraction without any photographic benefit.

If you have a powerful flash and are less than 30 feet away there maybe some gains made by utilizing flash. However a camera with high ISO performance and a fast lens is the choice for professional sports photographers and in many venues flash is not permitted.

This LINK has a few pointers regarding sports photography and I am sure you will be able to find many more.

If you do get a flash for this purpose get the most powerful one you can afford.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller