Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: White Balance Meter?

Real Name
    Dave

White Balance Meter?

Dear Folks,

I am a real estate photographer and sometimes experience problems getting white balance correct. I shoot with a Sony A7R and start out in AWB. I have tried using an Expodisk and also a Spyder Cube. Sometimes they work and sometimes they don't.

I often shoot in very mixed light situations, (ambient light from large windows, mixed lighting, etc). Oftentimes I add some fill flash into the mix.

Any such thing as a white balance meter that can read the light in the room so that I can set my camera for the most accurate color temperature?

Thanks in advance to all who respond.

Dave
    Last edited by acroreef; 13th April 2015 at 06:22 PM.

Real Name
    John

Re: White Balance Meter?

Have you tried using custom white balance setting on camera?

Chesterfield, Missouri/Melbourne, Australia
    Real Name
    Izzie

Use a grey card...it is simpler and easier.

Real Name
    John

Quote Originally Posted by acroreef View Post
    I often shoot in very mixed light situations, (ambient light from large windows, mixed lighting, etc). Oftentimes I add some fill flash into the mix.
    I assume you know you are never going to get a white balance setting that will make all of the lights look the same. One just needs to select a value that provides a pleasing appearance of the subject with the different colors of illumination.

John

Real Name
    Russell

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller