Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Life span - how much use can one expect from non pro body.

Real Name
    Kay

Life span - how much use can one expect from non pro body.

Strange title for my question I know!
    But what I am wondering is 'how much is too much' - i.e I work in a school in Sports admin and have been very fortunate to have so many opportunities to improve my photography skills as there are just too many events with 1800 students for the 'employed' photographer to get to.
    Now however he has left and my 'dance card' is very full with requests to attend 'if you can' and shoot 2 or 3 sports events per week.
    Add to that my 2 sports events of my choice on weekends, plus seeking out other different events to widen my learning (e.g music comp at school and friends kids birthday parties or informal group outdoor protraits on the w/e)
    I'm starting to wonder how much use the 7D is designed to take?
    (Especially as a lot of my work is using 'burts' so more shots again used)
    I purchased the extended warranty so I have that for 3 years rather than the standard 12 months - but I think there is software that can look at 'shutter use' and I'm wondering if I have a fault canon could say - you must have been using this for 'pro volume' = deny repair.
    I know I am worrying in advance - nothing has broken down yet...but what can I say? 'chill out' in my house = note to self to defrost the freezer!
    I don't want to start being 'precious' with my gear at school/work as I know many people have problems finding subject matter - but I also wonder is there a point when I am risking wearing out my gear and perhaps should suggest they buy some equipment for me to use.
    Thanks.
    K

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Life span - how much use can one expect from non pro body.

Hi Kay,