Thread: In response to James G's sharpening action technique

Chesterfield, Missouri/Melbourne, Australia
    Real Name
    Izzie

In response to James G's sharpening action technique

I promise James and Dan K that I will upload an image using James G's sharpening technique... so here it is...this bird was outside my dining room window and stayed there for a while so I thought it wants me to photograph him/her. As you can see, the sun was already up and I was just whiling my time away before I go to the airport for my flight (to Oz) at the time and I thought nothing of this bird until I saw how awful I did shot this one and through the window made it a bit foggy...I thought this one will be a good candidate for James G's sharpening technique...same bird shot but different blurring...

1) Gaussian Blur 1.5

2) Gaussian Blur 5

3) Surface Blur -- I have never used this filter before...so I must have overdone this one...

4) Noise Filter -- I have not used this filter before too but I put my option to 6 because it is one of my favourite number...silly but this is just an experiment, what the heck? Just do it...

Sorry about the composition...this is just an experiment and I would like to thank James G. Edward for putting his action up...made me get my butt in the chair to do some PP again...

Real Name
    Haseeb Modi

Re: In response to James G's sharpening action technique

Final result is good Izzie though I would still do a bit more sharpening.

Real Name
    Izzie

Thanks Haseeb...I was just playing around at my options. I like the action very much...

Real Name
    James Edwards

Hi Izzie,
    glad you like the action, as I said in my post, using a blur layer mask to sharpen is a bit of a chore if you have to manually do all the steps, so the action does take away the grind part of the process.