Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Red light, blue light, couldn't find a green

Red light, blue light, couldn't find a green

For these I used a table lamp fitted with a red bulb for the first shot, and a blue one for the second. The lamp has a variable in-line dimmer on the cord, so I was able to turn the power down very low - enough to illuminate the element, without blowing the light area of the shot. Each one was formed from six manually focussed shots stacked in Helicon.

Why? Haven't got a clue. C&C welcome.

Real Name
    David

Re: Red light, blue light, couldn't find a green

Hi Rob - I think these are fascinating. Helicon is the DoF stacking system if I recall correctly. In which case, the captured images are beautifully aligned. As a scientist I am intrigued by the wispy light trials above and below the filaments. Are these reflections or a type of electrical discharge? In addition, I could see these as "arty" images in prints all over student bedsits. Or maybe I'm showing my age.

Cheers

David

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

I echo David's comments. Notwithstanding the technical proficiency, what is most to admire is the imagination that generated the idea to do it in the first place. All these bits come together and produce wonderful images. I have said similar things in relation to Steve's (Wirefox's) work.

Even if I knew how to do it, it wouldn't enter my head that there was an image in such an object (I've led a very sheltered life!).

Real Name
    Rick

Quote Originally Posted by carregwen View Post

Why? Haven't got a clue. C&C welcome.
    Why? Because it's there. ( Smilie omitted, in deference to Rob's prejudices. )