Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: LR5 > PSCC > Nik Workflow

Real Name
    Adam

LR5 > PSCC > Nik Workflow

Let me start by saying that I am very new to photography. I only picked it up about a month ago as a new hobby. Since then I have fallen in love and spend every spare minute I have (when not shooting) reading about photography and, just recently, post-processing.

I have started to create my own post-processing workflow chart and I would like some input. From extensive reading, this is what I have compiled so far:

1) Lightroom 5
    -----a) Import RAW image
    -----b) Tag images with keywords
    -----c) Broad edits to image from top of adjustment panel to bottom
    -----d) Photo > "Edit in..." > Photoshop CC (edit a copy with LR adjustments)
    2) Photoshop CC
    -----a) Heavy image editing, cloning, content aware, etc. (if desired)
    -----b) Convert layer to smart object
    3) Nik (from within PSCC: Filter > Nik Collection) (all applied to the smart object)
    -----a) Sharpener Pro 3: RAW Presharpener
    -----b) Dfine 2
    -----c) HDR Efex (if required)
    -----d) Analog Efex 2
    -----e) Viveza 2
    ----------i) Specific control point edits
    -----f) Color Efex 4
    ----------i) Apply filters
    -----g) Silver Efex 2 (if desired)
    -----h) Sharpener Pro 3: Output Sharpener
    4) Photoshop
    -----a) Save as psd or tif (16 bit ProPhoto RGB)
    -----b) Save as jpeg (8-bit sRGB)

I would like feedback on the general workflow. Is there anything that's redundant?

Which programs should I use for specific functions like exposure, brightness, contrast, highlights, shadows, clarity, vibrance, saturation, split toning, lens correction, etc. Is this just a matter of personal preference or does one do them better than another? Is it better to do these things in LR on the RAW before handing it over to PS, or again a matter of personal preference?

Thanks for any responses.
    Last edited by Panda77; 13th February 2015 at 03:09 PM.

Real Name