Thread: What Micro Lens?

Real Name
    Adrian

What Micro Lens?

Price aside which lens can get me the closets to a subject? I will most likely be using this for nature stuff so like bugs/insects, flowers and so on.
    Does higher price tag = better lens? assuming it has the features you want

(Click to view full details)

AF-S DX Micro Nikkor 85mm f/3.5G ED VR

AF Micro-Nikkor 60mm f/2.8D

I'm new to the whole buying a lens thing so this may seem stupid but I am assuming that bigger the number is the closer it gets you? And for wide angle lens it's the opposite? Then for fish eye bigger the number means more of the fish eye look?

Real Name
    John

Re: What Micro Lens?

Both will have listed closest focusing distance, but chances are for macro you'll be manually focusing.

Real Name
    Richard

You will "get closer to the subject" with the 60mm focal length. However, both lenses can give you a 1:1 image ratio; 60mm, 100mm, 105mm, 150mm and 180mm macro lenses will all give you the same 1:1 maximum ratio. Image ratio is what you should be talking about when discussing a macro lens... However, with the longer lenses you will be able to achieve the maximum ratio with a larger lens to subject distance.

The longer lens to subject distance allows greater flexibility in lighting (all macros should receive some additional lighting) and being further away, the longer focal lengths will not scare the little creepie crawlies you are shooting...

OTOH: the downside of many of the longer focal length lenses is that they are often more expensive and usually heavier than the shorter focal lengths.

IMO: the best compromise (on either a crop or full frame camera) is a focal length of around 90-105 mm. The compromise in this case is the camera to subject distance against the price and weight of the lens.