Thread: absolute beginner

Real Name
    dave

absolute beginner

Hi everyone. Just got my first camera at age 58.... yes really!
    I live in Buckinghamshire in England and i want to take pictures using manual settings .
    whats the best first steps to take please?

Real Name
    Mark

Re: absolute beginner

Hi Dave And welcome! Tell us a little more about your camera and lens's You could start with the tutorials on here about composition, The exposure triangle, Depth of field, and any others that float your boat OH and read the camera manual!!!

Then come back here with more specific questions, Shooting manual is a good thing to do but dont sweat it straight the way. dont be afraid to get out there and shoot in auto to begin with. you have a lot to learn and may get disheartened if you try to take in too much info all at once.

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

Quote Originally Posted by wasp56 View Post
    i want to take pictures using manual settings .
    Why?

I've been taking pictures for an awfully long time and rarely shoot on manual. It's not that I don't know how to, as my first SLR had to be shot manually, so I have many years of experience doing so. A modern camera has such a great level of "intelligence", that I generally only shoot on manual when I am either shooting in a studio or when I am trying for some special shooting were I need to disengage the automation, for instance panoramas or certain types of night-time shots.

I agree 100% with Mark; as a beginner, I would suggest that you concentrate on learning things that are important photographically. The exposure triangle, composition the technical aspects of shooting (correct focus and not moving the camera while you shoot) are critical elements.