Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cymbidium Orchid

Real Name
    Rudi

Cymbidium Orchid

Trying to find my way in indoorphotography/ligthning, I shot more Cymbidium orchids ...

Here I used one speedlight with a Gary fong diffuser, off camera, shot into a homemade 'softbox',
    in combination with reflectors.

I am interested in any lightning advice, but off course all input/comments are welcomed and appreciated !!

Cymbidium Orchid

Cymbidium Orchid

Real Name
    Matt

Re: Cymbidium Orchid

I'm no expert on this type of photography but these look really good to me Rudi!

They are so sharp and the detail is brilliant.

Real Name
    Dan

Very nice.

I'm looking at these on an uncalibrated monitor during my lunch break, so I am not too confident that I am seeing them the way they would appear on a better monitor and at a larger size.

I like the lighting. I assume it is your use of reflectors, but you have managed to avoid the flat lighting that you sometimes get with a single source.

I have only one suggestion. It's hard to see at this size, but they seem a tad oversharpened to me.

Real Name
    rob ashcroft

Very good, Rudi. You have a good lens there, I have one myself. Did you just do one shot at f/22, or is it stacked? You seem to have got very good DOF, even for f/22. The lighting is fine. Good shot.

Real Name
    David

Never tried this before Rudi, so I can't give any advice on lighting but both images look great to me

Real Name
    John

Nice captures.

Real Name
    Rudi

Quote Originally Posted by Rebel View Post
    I'm no expert on this type of photography ....
    Thanks Matt, so that makes two off us...

Real Name
    Rudi

Quote Originally Posted by DanK View Post
    Very nice.

I'm looking at these on an uncalibrated monitor during my lunch break, so I am not too confident that I am seeing them the way they would appear on a better monitor and at a larger size.