Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Birthday Party Photography

Real Name
    Ali

Birthday Party Photography

Hi Everyone,

This Saturday is my son's birthday and I am going to take the pictures. It is going to be in a ~6 by 6 m penthouse room and during daytime but the lighting is not that great.

I am going to use a Canon 2.8L 24-70mm lens on a Rebel Xti with an external 430EX flash. I have never done this before and I am a physician so you get the idea.

What are the things that I should be prepared for and am I choosing the right gear, especially the Lens? Any advice?

Thanks,

Sedali

Re: Birthday Party Photography

mrsedali.....there is no such thing as right gear its the man behind the camera who makes the pics! even the best gear wont help,if u dont know wat u want to shoot! yes u do have the right gear and lense tooo very good flash too if its day scene,then fill in flash will give u some great natural looking shots! even fr nights it workswith a dedicated flash,we need to concentrate only on getting great expressions, smiles, kids doing their antics,warm tender moments,actions scenes,funny scenes, dont be prepared for anything! just stay alert,fit,and active

I think you'll be happy with that lens. Personally I prefer a slightly wider zoom for parties, say 18-50mm, but it's just personal preference.

I suggest using a light modifier if you have one. If not, just use a rubber band and an index card and point your flash straight up at the ceiling.

Most important, take some test photos in the same lighting conditions that you expect during the party. If you don't like the result and you need help troubleshooting, you can always post them here.

Mike
    Last edited by Mike R; 2nd October 2008 at 01:15 PM.

Real Name
    António Correia

Quote Originally Posted by Mike R View Post
    ... Most important, take some test photos in the same lighting conditions that you expect during the party... Mike