Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Nikon 7100 vs full frame nikon - user level 6-7

Real Name
    Mark Robucks

Nikon 7100 vs full frame nikon - user level 6-7

I am now ready to upgrade from my nikon d60 to better - later model nikon. I am having many conflicted thoughts regarding buying the nikon 7100 (a lot of features) or stepping up to a full framed nikon for more money... While not as many features or ranges. Not sure of the actual difference received with a full frame model...

I am not a professional level photographer at a level 9 or 10... Just a serious part time photographer - say level 5 - 6 - 7, that intends on spending much more time doing that in the future. Any suggestions from anyone having gone down this path before. Help!! Simply don't know enough at this point.
    Last edited by mfields; 13th November 2014 at 04:05 PM. Reason: BOLD TITLE

Re: Nikon 7100 vs full frame nikon - user level 6-7

My progression in digital cameras has been CoolPix 995>D80>D7000, just so you know where I'm coming from.
    If it were me in your position, I'd give full consideration to the D750, if for no other reason than its low light capabilities.
    You're going to find a D7100 so far advanced from your D60 it will make your head spin.
    Others with more knowledge on the pros and cons of FF vs DX will chime in I'm sure. My money would be going to a D750. And that is solely based on my gearhead mentality, not on any photographically based reason as I'm still not pushing the limits of my D7000.
    YMMV.

Real Name
    John

What strategy, research method did you use to select the D60? Did you buy it used or new?

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC