Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cannot Afford Another FF So?

Real Name
    Russell

Cannot Afford Another FF So?

Hi, OK hands up I cannot afford now on a pension a FF Canon Camera I have a 1DS MK ii but it although it is still a very good piece of kit getting to heavy for me and the way the technology has surged forward since the release of the 1DS MK ii I want a new camera.
    As I have lenses for Canon I suppose that is the way to go.
    I have been looking at the 70D but and I no pixels don't make you a good photographer it only has a stated 20MP where a Nikon D5300 has a stated 24MP and also like the 70D has WiFi.
    Nikon D5300 with a 18-140mm kit lens £555.99
    Canon 70D Digital SLR Camera Body + EF-S 18-55 IS STM Lens £679.99
    I have NO experience with Nikon at all but that could be a new challenge!!!
    Any suggestions please?
    Thanks
    Russ

Real Name
    Dan

Re: Cannot Afford Another FF So?

What do you shoot? Do you shoot much in low ambient light? Do you print, or display on the web? If you print, do you print large?

Without answers to questions like this, it is very hard to say what might be best. However, a few general comments:

--In my opinion, it is not worth worrying about which brand you buy. Buy the one that feels best in your hands and has controls that seem most logical to you. On the list of things that influence the quality of images, the choice between Canon and Nikon is way, way down near the bottom.