Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: lens repair - Canon Elstree or authorised service company?

lens repair - Canon Elstree or authorised service company?

Hi all

my EF 24-70mm has developed a fault (intermittent comms error 1 and aperture not behaving correctly); as a student I need to keep costs down and I wondered if anyone knew which repair route was most economic, Canon's repair dept or authorised independents?

Many thanks

ren

Re: lens repair - Canon Elstree or authorised service company?

I've always used Colchester Camera Repair for any Canon work. They are approved Canon agents and do work under the official guarantee.

Pricing appears to be around £100 for strip down and reassembly plus any parts.

Quote Originally Posted by Geoff F View Post
    I've always used Colchester Camera Repair for any Canon work. They are approved Canon agents and do work under the official guarantee.

Pricing appears to be around £100 for strip down and reassembly plus any parts.
    Thanks Geoff; I hadn't heard of the service centre in Colchester, I'll look them up. I've read about what sounds like similar problems with the 24-105, and they seem to need a lot of parts replacing - if Canon does fixed price repairs then it might work out cheaper. Can't really afford too much sending off for estimates, either! My project this term is landscape based so I need the lens!

ren

Real Name
    William (call me Bill)

Quote Originally Posted by ren41 View Post
    . . . my EF 24-70mm has developed a fault (intermittent comms error 1 and aperture not behaving correctly) . . .
    Have you:

a) used that lens on another body, to confirm that it is a lens only fault
    b) cleaned and dried the electrical contacts of the lens and also of the body
    c) cleaned and dried the camera’s battery contacts and also the battery's contacts

WW

Quote Originally Posted by William W View Post
    Have you:

a) used that lens on another body, to confirm that it is a lens only fault