Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Assorted Dahlias

Real Name
    Ali

Assorted Dahlias

These are Dahlias from my garden. I took the photo tonight when I got home from work. I still had some light to work with so I took the photo outside. I used white foam board for the background and base on which the vase is sitting. After processing the photo in PSE Adobe camera raw, I applied textures, blend modes and used layer masks to reveal the flowers underneath to keep the texture from covering those areas. Also used the layer opacity to adjust some textures and added a darker vignette on the final layer.

I like the look of textures and think that flowers make a great subject for it. This is not my first attempt at using textures, I have been tinkering with them for about six months. My goal was to get an antique look.

This is how the image looked after processing the RAW file
    Assorted Dahlias

Finished image with textures, blend modes and layer masks.
    Assorted Dahlias
    Last edited by ajsmith; 27th August 2014 at 03:39 AM.

Real Name
    Shane

Re: Assorted Dahlias

Very nicely visualized and executed Ali! I think that you achieved your goal and I really appreciate seeing the image that you started with and where you took it. Very creative

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

Exceptionally well done! I wish I had the artistic talent to envision such a still life.

Check out in great detail the areas where the outside edges of the flowers are adjacent to the background. The background is the white foam board in some of those areas.

Real Name
    Irene Eva

Beautifully done.

Irene

Nicely done Ali. It has the look of a painting more so than a photograph.

Real Name
    Grahame

I think you have done an exceedingly good job Ali. Well done.

Real Name
    Kim

Lovely! Thanks for sharing both images.

Real Name
    John

Nicely done, nice choice of backgrounds.

Real Name
    Binnur

+1 to Rita's comment

Real Name
    Ali