Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Lens Hoods

Lens Hoods

Hi all,
    I'm new here and just discovered this site. I love photography but I admit, I'm still learning and have never had formal classes. I'm curious about lens hoods. I would like to get one for my Canon digital Rebel EOS. I understand the useage but not gauging sizes or which to get. I have 2 lenses, an Aspherical 20-80mm lens and a Sigma 100-300mm. This is a new area to me but I do alot of photography by the ocean and in the sun. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by McQ; 25th March 2010 at 12:53 AM. Reason: removed all-bold type

Real Name
    John

Re: Lens Hoods

Hello Cruisegirl,

The lens hood usually comes in the box but if you purchased elsewhere use the product number to locate the correct lens hood on the manufacturer's website.
    Quote Originally Posted by cruisegirl View Post
    Hi all,
    I'm new here and just discovered this site. I love photography but I admit, I'm still learning and have never had formal classes. I'm curious about lens hoods. I would like to get one for my Canon digital Rebel EOS. I understand the useage but not gauging sizes or which to get. I have 2 lenses, an Aspherical 20-80mm lens and a Sigma 100-300mm. This is a new area to me but I do alot of photography by the ocean and in the sun. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by McQ; 25th March 2010 at 12:54 AM.

Real Name
    Rick

Quote Originally Posted by Shadowman View Post
    . . . use the product number to locate the correct lens hood on the manufacturer's website.
    Just to clarify, you won't be getting a lens hood for your camera. You'll need a lens hood for each lens, so you want to check the lens manufacturers' sites to find the correct hoods.

Cheers,
    Rick

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Cruisegirl,

Firstly welcome to the CiC forums from me.

Further to the above reply (and the Sigma definitely says it comes with one).