Thread: Sunset Hints and Tips please for newbie

Real Name
    Karen

Sunset Hints and Tips please for newbie

Hi,
    Please can you give a complete novice a few hints/tips/ideas on photography of sunsets.

My local camera club has asked we all take in a sunset photo next month and was wondering if any of you kind people would maybe give me a few pointers to taking a good sunset picture.

I have an entry level camera, a Nikon D3200 with the kit lens (18-55mm) it came with, so pretty basic.

Many thanks in advance.
    Karen

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Re: Sunset Hints and Tips please for newbie

Hi Karen,

- Use a tripod because exposure times will be too long to hand-hold.

- Wait until the sun has gone down (and shoot for the next hour or so) because the lighting will be more even (no bright sun to destroy the exposure)

- Shoot RAW (so you have the full range of info to work with)

- Use a narrow aperture so you can get the longest exposure (smooths out water / blurs clouds etc)

- Don't forget to include a good foreground in the composition

I do lots of sunset shots - so you might get some ideas here:

http://www.pbase.com/cjsouthern/all_images

Real Name
    Karen

Thanks Colin.

Fantastic pictures

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Quote Originally Posted by May Park View Post
    Thanks Colin.

Fantastic pictures
    Thanks

But now - lets get yours posted so we can start giving you hints and tips to make them better!

Real Name
    William (call me Bill)

Quote Originally Posted by Colin Southern View Post
    . . . lets get yours posted so we can start giving you hints and tips to make them better!
    +1

Real Name
    John

Hi Karen,

What is the structure of your camera club, what are the usual topics, how long have you been a member? Are there more advanced members in the group and perhaps the rest is trying to catch up? I find it odd that the club would give you an assignment without some preparedness before sending you out in the field?