Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: what camera do you suggest?

Real Name
    Sapphire

what camera do you suggest?

hi, im sapphire. I will be getting a camera soon and i would appreciate your suggestions.
    im more landscape oriented though i also have a keen interest in macro photography and portraiture.
    im looking for a high quality canon which is not too specific in funtionality regardless of the expense.
    im a beginner so i dont want something highly complicated to use but it has to be excellent enough to last me at least six years.
    can anyone please help me out?

Real Name
    Bruce

Re: what camera do you suggest?

Sapphire, is there a camera store near where you live? Also, how much money do you plan to spend on your camera?

Bruce

Real Name
    Sapphire

there's not a camera store very close to where i live, and the highest amount i can spend is 5000 USD.

Real Name
    Frank Deland

Good question to ask the sales rep in your camera store. The more expensive cameras have more features, but do not be discouraged if there is a lot. You can always work into the features as you get to know your camera. Ask about the differences in the sensors. How do they compare in size or quality between various models. Ask about lenses, do not get too many "kit" lenses to start with unless you get some sort of a package. Ask about the differences in the expense of lenses. Learn something about why some are more expensive than others. Also, be aware that there are some very good "kit" lenses.
    You might consider renting a camera for a week to try out a certain model you are considering. (Borrowlenses.com) is one.

I did not do that with cameras, but have rented lenses.