Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: Which Photoshop Layer Blending Modes do you use?

Real Name
    E. James

Which Photoshop Layer Blending Modes do you use?

Which blending modes do you use most when photo-processing? I have begun to use Soft Light to add contrast and density. I have used Multiply in the past and occasionally Hard Light for more extreme effects. I occasionally get good results when repairing a light image by making a new layer then: Image > Apply Image (soft light and adjust opacity).

Nomadic but not homeless, ex N.Z. now Aust.
    Real Name
    Paul

Re: Which Photoshop Layer Blending Modes do you use?

Normal, darken, lighten and sometimes luminosity, color or multiply but not often. Darken or lighten I also often use when cloning.

Real Name
    Dan

Ed,

Because of the kinds of photography I do, I use layers relatively infrequently, so I am a real novice. However, I found this article very helpful: http://www.photoshopessentials.com/p...d-modes/intro/

Dan

Real Name
    wm c boyer

Relevant question Ed...I use them rarely but, should. Dan's link will benefit me!

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller

I use normal, multiply, overlay, soft light and screen the most. I've used some of the others for more extreme and funky effects. I think the only one I've never used is disolve.

Much the same with me. Soft Light to add a little bit of saturation boost. Overlay and Hard Light do the same but are more extreme. Multiply is sometimes handy for contrast.

Luminosity I use a lot, particularly when using a Curves Adjustment Layer. It will only change the brightness not effect the saturation as well.

Sometimes when I get a sea scene which has gone excessively blue I will adjust the brightness with Luminosity and the colour with a separate Curves Layer using something like Hue.