Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: RAW or JPEG

Re: RAW or JPEG

Quote Originally Posted by Colin Southern View Post
    I wouldn't say one is BETTER than the other - what I would say is that one is DIFFERENT from the other.

I like to compare it to buying a cake or buying just the ingredients and baking it myself; if I bake it myself I can do it just the way I like it if I'm good at baking cakes -- on the other hand, nothing's to say the bought cake won't taste great even if it does taste a little different to how it would have if I'd baked it. If I'm not good at baking then the bought cake will always be better until my baking skills improve.
    Carrying the analogy a bit further, sometimes one just doesn't have time to bake a cake from scratch. - and I think the OP has already knows this (post # 5).

And further to his original question - which is better? - it comes down to several considerations (time available for PP, and the requirements in terms of image quality and/or the amount of PP required).

Perhaps the appropriate question is more complex - "which is better for what and what is required".

Glenn

Real Name
    Have a guess :)

Quote Originally Posted by Glenn NK View Post
    Carrying the analogy a bit further, sometimes one just doesn't have time to bake a cake from scratch. - and I think the OP has already knows this (post # 5).
    Sorry Glenn, but that's a non-sequitur; just because one "doesn't have time to bake a cake from scratch" can be because the cook is inexperienced and hopelessly inefficient - which then wouldn't be a true reflection on the efficiency of the process (a car is only faster than walking if the driver knows how to drive).

As a test, I timed how long it took (on a PC that's below average by today's standards) to do the following ...

- Start Bridge

- Open a folder containing 100 DNG files

- Select them all

- Open them in ACR

- Make changes to exposure, brightness, contrast, saturation, clarity, blacks