Thread: Critique Please - AFG after sunset

Real Name
    Jason Swanson

Critique Please - AFG after sunset

Please provide me some comments of constructive criticism. I had about 15 minutes to set up and take pictures while on break. I used my Canon EOS 70D with EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM lens, settings of ISO 800, f/4.0, shutter 0.6s, and 26mm focal length.

Real Name
    Jeremy Rundle

Re: Critique Please - AFG after sunset

Harsh but I see no point of interest

Real Name
    Jason Swanson

What do you mean by harsh? What would you have done differently? For me, was to capture the twilight sky as I am learning the functions of the camera in manual mode. I am just beginning to learn and this is one of my first pictures with the camera (other than a couple of moon shots I took). So please expand on your comment.

A crop to remove at least half of the dark area at the bottom would help. Then maybe a fraction more brightness - if needed.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Hi Jason, If you are trying to make the twilight sky the center of attention then you might want it to be a bit brighter. In this case, the attention is grabbed by the tent-like thing because it is so much brighter than the sky. I would try using a darker foreground than the sky if you want the attention to be there.

Real Name
    Jason Swanson

Much appreciated - I haven't attempted p/p yet, still learning how to use Element 9. I think the cropping would be my best option due to having restricted options on where one can find an open view on the base, as well as flood lights (source of light over the tents) being randomly placed.

Real Name
    Frank Miller

Quote Originally Posted by JasonS View Post
    Much appreciated - I haven't attempted p/p yet, still learning how to use Element 9. I think the cropping would be my best option due to having restricted options on where one can find an open view on the base, as well as flood lights (source of light over the tents) being randomly placed.