Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Multiple flash photography...

Chesterfield, Missouri/Melbourne, Australia
    Real Name
    Izzie

Multiple flash photography...

I am a very amateur and very beginner and ultra ignorant about multiple flash photography so be gentle with me...

I have two wireless flash system, a wireless remote control (Vella Freewave Plus) that connects to my camera (D300s and D90 2nd edition), lighting systems and a portable ring light. I want to know how to fire off the two flashes that I have so that I can move on to learning studio lighting. Positioning them will be my choice according to what I am photographing, of course, but enabling the two flashes is my problem. Please note that I realized I have to connect the wireless remote in my camera.

What do I do? What do I need? No problems about putting the flashes in my tripods, I have quite a few of them actually...but who doesn't? I just thought that I might find a use for them if I get into multiple flash photography. No, not really because of the tripod but really, it is time for me to move on from photographing airplanes, fly-ins, museums...and move to a studio environment to learn this part of the equation...

I tried to google multiple flash photography but google is not my friend at the moment -- it gives me conflicting info on what to use, usually through my ignorance about this kind of photography...

I just want a simple set-up for now...so please help....anyone??? Thanks....!!!!

Real Name
    John

Re: Multiple flash photography...

Isabel,

It sounds like you need a wireless Speedlight Commander. I have one that can control up to four flash units. If your current unit is similar it should be able to do the same, the commander and flash units have channels that you set (different channels for each flash unit).

http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Nikon-Pro...Commander.html

Real Name
    Manfred Mueller