Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Great Britain Photo Trip

Great Britain Photo Trip

Hello together,

I plan a trip through Great Britain with my camara (and my bike). Time: April/May.

Can anybody of you English, Scottish and Welsh people give me some hints for (photo)-locations which I may not miss. And also - if exist - for areas where it is not recommended to go alone with camara and bike?

My first station will be Cambridge :-).

Thanks in advance, Rainer

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: Great Britain Photo Trip

Rainer

Do you have any photographic preferences? For example, urban scenes, street photography, mountainous landscapes, seascapes, etc? If you can give us some guidance, I'm sure people on here will provide many suggestions.

As a Cambridge resident, I can recommend it as suitably photogenic!
    - architecture: King's College Chapel and the buildings around it, but many other old colleges and fine buildings. In April and maybe May many may be closed because of exams.
    - the river: punting on the River Cam along the Backs; look for tourists falling in when their poles get stuck in the mud or under a bridge. Also the Bumps downriver, the spectacular inter-college rowing races where the aim is to hit the boat in front before you are hit from behind (I still have a damaged finger joint from my last involvement). The May Bumps are, confusingly, held in Mid June, so you would miss them if you come when planned.
    - cycling and cyclists: it's the cycling capital of the UK. The Tour de France stage 3 will start in Cambridge on, I think, 7th July, a bit late for you.
    - trip to Ely: small town, massive and ancient cathedral.
    - trip to Newmarket and the races: where the horse racing tradition started in the 17th century. The small town lives for horses.