Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: fuji s5700, Good 1st time buy?

fuji s5700, Good 1st time buy?

Hi I am completely new to this forum and digital photography (have been keen hobbyist photographer for some time though with traditional cam) and need advice. I am looking at getting a new camera and want something cheap and not too fancy. I particularly like night photography so average performance at night is a must. There are a few other things it will be useful for where I need good basic performance at reasonable cost.

I saw a fuji s5700 for just under £100 and thought it looked like a good first buy for a digital camera. I understand the basics and digital formats in particular very well it's just the cam hardware side I have no experience with at all. Has anyone here got experience with this camera, and does it produce night shots of reasonable quality (nightscapes more than portrait). I don't expect perfection from something so cheap, as long as it's acceptable I don't mind. I have found a few reviews but not much info on night ability. I notice many reviews found similar cons like purple fringing or not to vibrant colour etc but seem not to be severe and can remedy in photoshop/GIMP.