Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Lowlight Photography with and without flash

Real Name
    John

Lowlight Photography with and without flash

Always waiting for the golden hour, then suddenly the night is upon us. What do you normally do, put the camera away, utilize flash, fast lens?

I created this thread to discuss lowlight shooting with and without flash. What are members opinion, what are your standard techniques, settings? Do you prefer or anticipate subject movement? Black and white examples are not necessary.

f/4.5, 1/160sec, ISO 1600 90mm, Jul.7:40PM with flash, Nikon D60

f/2.8, 1/30 sec, ISO 3200, Oct 7:00PM, no flash, Nikon D5200

both handheld
    Last edited by Shadowman; 19th February 2014 at 01:17 AM. Reason: added text

Real Name
    Dan

Re: Lowlight Photography with and without flash

I'm not very good at this type of photography, but in my mind, it is as much a matter of the quality of light as the amount of light. One reason that I routinely use flash indoors is that the available light is usually not very good, e.g., leaving eyes shadowed, providing no catch light, etc. Your second shot has some strong horizontal light that brings out detail, not just on the person in the foreground, but also some of the others, e.g, the face farthest to the left. In contrast, the available light in the first one is bad, it seems to me, providing some detail on the clothing but leaving the faces almost entirely shadowed.