Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DSLR or point and shoot?

Real Name
    Sara

DSLR or point and shoot?

Hello, I do not consider myself to be a photograher although I do love to take photos. I have a question I an hoping someone can help me with. I would like to buy a new digital camera but I am having some trouble in figuring what I should spend my money on. I love how a DSLR sounds, but I think it may be more than I really need. Would any one suggest on whether I should purchase a user friendly DSLR such as some kind of Canon Rebel or a more expensive point and shoot. I am looking to spend somewhere between 500 to 700 dollars. Like I said I am no professional but I am very interested in taking more professional looking photos. Portraiture is mainly what I would be using this camera for.
    I know a cameras image sensor is an important factor in determining what kind of camera to use. Is there a point and shoot with a larger image sensor? Thanks for the help! Sara

Is it safe to say a less expensive DSLR will produce better results than a more expensive point and shoot?
    Last edited by smarma; 14th February 2010 at 09:15 PM.

Real Name
    Just add 'MacKenzie'

Re: DSLR or point and shoot?

Sara

It sounds like you're on the first step of the journey. The DSLR is going to give you more options in the future. So, if the bug gets you in the way it's already got those of us on here, then you'll want the flexibility to expand and grow your system that teh SLR will give.

Like many folk I got some things that I thought would do me forever (like a camera bag). That soon became too small and I ended up buying another one. So, stretch yourself as far as your budget will allow now, and then plan your system growth as your skills and interests develop.

ps - Welcome to the forums.

Real Name
    Pops