Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0

Thread: What lens is best for residential interior?

What lens is best for residential interior?

I am new to DLSR and just bought a Canon XSi that came with an 18-55mm lens. Do I need a wider angle lens to take residential home interior shots? (Like bathrooms)
    Last edited by Colin Southern; 6th February 2009 at 04:42 AM. Reason: Fix typo in thread title

Real Name
    Ian

Re: What les is best for residential interior?

Hi,

Can I ask firstly what you are trying to achieve with these shots? If you are a realtor or bathroom salesperson, then anything too fisheye like is going to be, in most cases counterproductive. On the other hand if it is purely photographic, then the effect can be quite desirable.

In many years of professional shooting of house interiors, the bathroom is always the most difficult due to the placing of the fixed items around the room, unless it is a huge room.

Sometime you are lucky, other times you just have to walk away from the most expensive bathroom because getting a shot the client is happy with is just beyond the realms of possibilities. Most other rooms in a house and a 28mm equivalent will be fine.

Your new camera (neat) has what I presume is a kit lens. With a cropped sensor on this camera, all the lens dimensions will be increased by 1.6 so your lens becomes the equivalent of a 28mm on a film or full frame DSLR. This should cope with most things but you might want to also have a smaller say 12/14mm lens too, (which would be around the 19-22mm mark equivalent) if you are shooting these shots regularly, particularly difficult rooms like the bathroom.

So decide what you are trying to achieve first off, then post here again as other advice may well be forthcoming.

Re: What lens is best for residential interior?

Yes I am a REALTOR trying to get the best shots for my advertising. The lens that came with the camera is an 18-55mm. In your opinion a 28MM would be the best?