Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Super Zoom Cameras

Real Name
    Barry Black

Super Zoom Cameras

Hi...

I've been using the Nikon P500 super zoom camera for almost two years and I really like the camera's versatility, but like I was warned, the photos tend to be soft and the colors not particularly vivid in spite of the settings. Now there appears to be a flurry of super zoom cameras on the market and even Leica has joined the ranks! Is there a super zoom camera out there that can take really sharp pictures with vivid color? I know that nothing can beat a prime lens, but perhaps now with advanced optics and software perhaps there is one super zoom camera that stands out. Thanks for any advice.

Real Name
    Richard

Re: Super Zoom Cameras

Having a "super-zoom" is a two edged sword... It does allow you to zoom in on distant objects really close but, the long zoom requires a very solid camera hold. Using a super-zoom at full extension makes it very difficult to hand hold. Even with an Image Stabilization (whatever the manufacturer calls theirs) it is fairly difficult to hold hold the camera. A great addition to a super-zoom would be a tripod. However, many people like the super-zoom cameras because they are small in size and light in weight. Using a tripod sort of defeats the purpose for which the camera was purchased.

Another problem with using any long very focal length lens is that the atmospheric haze often makes the image look flat and OOF. This, of course, is different for each shot!

My son-in-law has purchased a Canon SX-50 and has been producing some quite nice images at maximum focal lengths. However, he realizes the problem hand holding the lens and will attempt to brace the camera on something solid whenever he shoots at maximum FL.