Thread: Lake Blanche on 10/6

Real Name
    Mavourneen

Lake Blanche on 10/6

A fellow photographer and I hiked up to Lake Blanche on 10/6; and what we thought would be an easy hike was a great challenge LOL - We started at 12:30, arrived to the top around 3; spent two hours photographing the lake (We totally missed 2 other lakes and some waterfalls, but we didn't have time) Then we left at 5:30 and got to the bottom at 8.

About 1/4th of the way down we were hiking down in the dark, over snow, ice and rocks. Not quite fun....and our tripods were used as Canes because our legs were in so much pain. But I believe it was well worth the trek and I want to do it again! But in less snowy circumstances

Here's my favorites from the brief time up there:

Lake Blanche on 10/6

Lake Blanche on 10/6

Lake Blanche on 10/6

Lake Blanche on 10/6

I do appreciate feedback (Even though I'm not technically asking for critiques) But, had I spent more time at the lake I might have gotten something more majestic (Such as a sunset, I know those mountains would have had a beautiful Golden Glow)

Real Name
    Nancy (surprised you!)

Re: Lake Blanche on 10/6

Your photos are always a joy to look at, thank you!
    This was certainly worth the hike though and I am sure it wil be a great memory every time you talk about these photos.
    Very nice!
    Nancy

Real Name
    David

Stunning images,well worth the pain!

Real Name
    Bruce

Beautiful photos.

Bruce

These 'chocolate box' scenes can sometimes look unnatural even though the scenery is stunning. But you have managed to include something into the foreground to add that bit of extra interest which does work well.

Real Name
    Murat Batmaz

All great shots, especially the first one. The foreground is awesome.

Real Name
    Mavourneen

Quote Originally Posted by Geoff F View Post