Helpful Posts Helpful Posts:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Meet Gus

Meet Gus

My granddaughter gave her fiance' a 9-week-old German shorthair retriever for Christmas. I couldn't resist a double portrait:

Meet Gus

Re: Meet Gus

Tom Hi
    I like the shot a lot two charismatic photogenic subjects. Well captured, I hope you won't mind be playing with it in PS [not very expertly - sorry].

Meet Gus

Well done

Rob

Don't mind at all. Thanks.

Real Name
    Dave Humphries :)

Hi Rob,

I like what you've done there.

Mind you, it was a nice portrait to start with Tom.

Cheers,

RobO, I sorta know what you did, but could I trouble you to explain the process? I'm not really good at getting such effects (I usually lose hair or other details).Thanks for any help you can be in this. Regards, Tom

Hi Tom

I'll try to be as helpful as I can, but my PS/CS skills are limited [note to self - must do better].

Firstly - my personal viewpoint was that your Grandaughter and the dog [yup, I just love retrievers ] are very photogenic, but the DOF on the shot was too great drawing attention away from the main points of interest. Essentially IMHO the background was rather cluttered. So .......

1) I used the lasso tool to select the background area, doing it rather quickly I didn't get too close and didn't set the feather correctly.

2) I used Filters>Gausian Blur - to blur the background

3) I found that the incorrect feather selection had left a band around the image and so I rather crudely used the clone tool to infill the surrounding band that should have been done properly first time!

4) I then used a combination of fading/smudging & healing to give the impression of the same colours that were in the background and "pulled" them around the subject[s] t make it "flow."