Thread: Cornwall girls

Real Name
    Darren

Cornwall girls

I went to Cornwall with some family and friends recently and have five minutes to myself so thought I would share some images with you guys:

Cornwall girls Phoebe in the grass by Darren Joseph Gregory, on Flickr

Cornwall girls Running through the grass by Darren Joseph Gregory, on Flickr

Cornwall girls Phoebe the champion by Darren Joseph Gregory, on Flickr

Cornwall girls Friends for life by Darren Joseph Gregory, on Flickr

Cornwall girls Kelsi sunset by Darren Joseph Gregory, on Flickr

Cornwall girls Phoebe by the car by Darren Joseph Gregory, on Flickr

Real Name
    Dave Ellis

Re: Cornwall girls

A very enjoyable set of shots Darren. The kids look like they are having fun. I'm no portrait expert so I can't comment specifically from that point of view. In any case, these are fairly candid and you probably didn't have a lot of control of everything a photographer would like anyway.

The first one works quite well for me, despite the rather harsh backlight. I would be inclined to tone that light down a bit in pp if possible.

In the third and fourth, I'd suggest you reduce the exposure/brightness of the whole image (in pp) a tad. In the fifth, it looks liked you've used flash which gives a better exposure balance between subject and background although I think you could make some improvements in pp with selective decrease in brightness of the background.

The subjects are all well focused and I think you've used a suitable DOF.

All in all, nicely done.

Dave

Real Name
    Darren

Quote Originally Posted by dje View Post
    A very enjoyable set of shots Darren. The kids look like they are having fun. I'm no portrait expert so I can't comment specifically from that point of view. In any case, these are fairly candid and you probably didn't have a lot of control of everything a photographer would like anyway.