Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mating Macros

Real Name
    Steven

Mating Macros

Been busy lately with good things happening in the family so have not been posting as much as I would like to.

1. a pair of fruit flies
    Mating Macros

2. a pair of long legged flies
    Mating Macros

3. a pair of red beetles? (anyone knows the ID?)
    Mating Macros

Real Name
    Claudio

Re: Mating Macros

Great Images Steven...im completely new to all this..so been asking evryone for advice tonight..were these also taken with tripod? and is that natural light? They're all fantastically sharp!!! Gratz

Real Name
    Christina

Incredible photos thank you for sharing... #1 & #2 are my favourites because of the perfect backgrounds, but #3 is incredible, too.

I have to ask just where does one finds mating insects?

Real Name
    Kaye Leggett

They're are gorgeous, especially the first one.

Real Name
    Steven

Quote Originally Posted by ClaudioG View Post
    Great Images Steven...im completely new to all this..so been asking evryone for advice tonight..were these also taken with tripod? and is that natural light? They're all fantastically sharp!!! Gratz
    Claudio all the images are shot hand held with an external diffused flash. Like I said, tripod slows you down in the "open." I learned from a pro and he uses a broom stick to give "support." He holds the broom stick like a cue stick but to the ground with his left hand and with has a finger sticking out to support the tip end of the lens while his right hand holds the camera body and shoot. A tripod would be useful when you shoot bugs in natural light.

Hope this helps. If my above explanation is not clear, I will send you a photo showing you how it's done.

Real Name
    Steven

Quote Originally Posted by Christina S View Post