Thread: My enjoyable 1st attempts at Macro!!!

Real Name
    Claudio

My enjoyable 1st attempts at Macro!!!

Hi all..here's my first mini outing with my NEW Tamorn SP 90mm Di Vc USD F/2.8 rocket ship MACRO lens..woohooooo ...what ya think? I probably cropped in a bit more than needed to on mozzy... but he was tiny!!!!!

I dont have a flash...yet... so i made a home made diffuser..just pop it on my pop pop pop up flash,,, works like a bomb..at least i think so..as i say im new to macro.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!! please dont be shy to throw in all your pointers!!!im here to learn

This last one is an attempt at something i just didnt quite get right..but will work on it..background to busy

Real Name
    Grahame

Re: My enjoyable 1st attempts at Macro!!!

Hi Claudio,

Congratulations on your Tamron, I have viewed many stunning images taken using this lens and I'm sure you are going have fun trying to reach it's maximum potential.

What do I think ?, you have taken a set with varied subjects that all demonstrate the 'challenge' of DOF and you have managed to make them interesting. Just think if you had got the mozzies snout as sharp as his head, it's not easy

As for using a diffuser over your pop up flash, yes, it can give you some good results.

Now advice, keep working at it, try and consider the background if you have time so it does not compete with the subject and use every aid you can where possible to get the part you want sharp.

I can't see any shooting details with these images, Claudio.

The fly is at a difficult angle for the shallow focus depth that comes with macro shots.

If using flash in the auto output option (ETTL for example) what I do is to set the camera with manual settings to suit the scene then adjust the flash output compensation to suit. This requires a bit of experimentation before you get the hang of it.

Typical manual settings for me would be 1/200 F14 Iso 200 and flash compensation around -1 to -2.