Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New member question: Auto ISO

New member question: Auto ISO

I have been using a Canon 20d for several years and have just moved to the 5diii. One of the new features is auto ISO. With the 20d you fix the ISO, choose Av or TV and the camera adjusts the aperture/shutter speed to create the EV. With auto ISO, there is an additional 'degree of freedom'. If, say, I choose an Av setting how will the camera respond to low light - higher ISO or slower shutter speed? Thanks for any feedback.

Real Name
    Dan

Re: New member question: Auto ISO

You should be able to customize it to set a floor to ss. If EV still needs to go lower when that ss is reached then auto ISO will take over. I'm a Nikon shooter but per my understanding that other brand works the same way. Some other user of that other brand will have to point to you exactly where to set the customization feature. With Nikon it is logically under the auto ISO configuration setting

Real Name
    J stands for John

I never use auto ISO becuase of the serious problem that in poor light it will choose a high ISO which will result in excessive noise spoiling the picture ... but I do watch my shutter spped in those circumstnces and take precautions to keep the camera steady for the longer shutter speed the camera picks. Occasionally I do use a high ISO but I know and choose that and not the camera. It is probably the one control I do not give to the camera since starting with digital. I could set the camera to select ISO within a given range but prefer to work the way I have done.

Thanks for that Dan.

thanks jcuknz and nimitzbenedicto. my learning curve just got steeper!
    I guess I'll avoid auto iso. Thanks again for your help

Real Name
    Dave Ellis

Keith with Auto ISO you can set the maximum ISO value to use. This safeguards against excessively high ISO's.

So what happens with Auto ISO is this

Where correct exposure corresponds to fast shutter speeds, the minimum ISO is used