Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nikon D90 vs. Nikon D7000

Nikon D90 vs. Nikon D7000

Hi guys,

I cannot make up my mind in this situation. First off, let me tell you what I want to do in photography. I am interested in mainly landscape, street, and architecture. I am fairly new to photography but I have grown on the Nikon D3100 and I want to expand my limits and skills. I was researching and I found that usually you want a cheaper body and a more expensive lens. So I looked around a bit and I found a Nikon D90 with a couple extras for a decent price that would allow me to get 1-3 lenses for my needs. But as I looked into the D7000, it started to look like a better camera for the money, but would only allow me to get 1-2 lenses. I already have a 55-200mm and a 18-55mm. So I was looking for probably a prime lens and/or a wide angle. So basically, I am stuck between getting a D90 and a D7000 and depending on which one I choose, what lenses will be the best for my needs.

Real Name
    Dan

Re: Nikon D90 vs. Nikon D7000

It's hard to help define someone else's needs but between those two options, the D7000 is a superior camera. The additional pixels are good for landscape type stuff. If you are growing as a photographer and demanding more out of your equipment then the additional customizable settings etc. will be useful. Good luck with your decision and welcome to CIC.

northern Virginia suburb of Washington, DC

I recommend that you find or make a list that compares the capabilities of the two cameras. Lots of them are already available on the Internet. Once you have reviewed that list, decide which capabilities that are unique to the D7000 would be especially useful to your style of photography. As an example, if you plan to do a lot of low-light street photography, the dramatically improved high-ISO capability of the D7000 will be extremely helpful.

Real Name
    Allan Short